Sibelius Suite (2001)


Music: Jean Sibelius
Lighting: Philip Sandström
Costumes: Olga Danylyuk
Set Design: Robert Natkin
Ballet Master: Jason Andrew

Dancers: Claudia Aki, James Atkinson, Gayle Gibbons, Ilana Goldman, Tomiko Magario, Maribeth Maxa, Claire McKeveny, Tara-Marie Perri, Petr Zahradnicek

Premiere: Jan 25, 2001, Part of Gleich Dances season called “Whimsy and Wonder,” Joyce SoHo, New York, NY

The Sibelius Suite began with A Lite Refrain in 1998 and is the fulfillment of a dream to choreograph all of Jean Sibelius’ “Six Humoresques for Violn and Orchestra.” The Humoresques, though not widely known, are irresistible.
Presented in association with Joyce SoHo. Sibelius Suite was made possible in part by a grant from the Bossak/Heilbron Charitable Foundation

00'sjulia-gleich2000-2004, 2001